top of page
  • thescape0

People I Met on the Unknown Journey


People we meet on an unknown journey of life will have a greater impact on us than those who couldn't do it in years. It is one of the best experiences we can have. Even though we may not meet them again or know anything about them, we still enjoy every moment with them. That is what people call "living in the moment".


A few days ago, I went hiking with a group of people I knew nothing about. We were all strangers to one another. We started our hike early at 3 am, so we had to begin our journey from the city to the base village at night. We boarded the bus that we had rented. As I stepped onto the bus, I saw many unfamiliar faces. I thought it was going to be a lonely hike. However, as we hit the road, we began introducing ourselves. Each person gave a brief introduction, sharing their name, occupation, place of origin, and past hiking experiences. There was also an older man, he was older by his age but not by his ambition. whom we affectionately referred to as "KAKA." If I heard correctly, he had completed over 60 treks so far and had fulfilled his bucket list. From KAKA, we learned that age should never become a barrier to travel, and we should explore while we can. Even though we say age is just a number, in life there comes a point where traveling becomes challenging.

After the introductions, I listened attentively to each person's story, but as usual, I forgot everyone's name. With the lights off and soft music playing through the bus speakers, the heavy rain on the road made me nervous. Sitting alone in the last seat, I couldn't deny my fear as our driver overtook the "do not overtake" signs. The rain couldn't deter him; he seemed unstoppable. In the darkness, I prayed, hoping I wouldn't die with a group of strangers. It struck me that I couldn't even recall their faces. I thought to myself, "Man, this is the worst-case scenario to die." After losing our way and finally finding it, we reached the base, and after a half-hour rest, we began our hike.

During that break, I finally had a chance to put faces to the names and get to know everyone a little better. Although I still couldn't remember anyone's name (it's a talent, really), I could at least recognize them by their faces. As we trekked our way to the top of the fort, conquering steep slopes, dense forests, and towering mountains, I often contemplated throwing in the towel and turning back. But hey, I'm not one to back down from a challenge. We pushed through, faced those obstacles head-on, and by the end of it all, I even managed to memorize their names.

Once we reached the summit, an overwhelming sense of tranquility washed over me. The sight of those sprawling green mountains, the chilly breeze gently caressing my body and heart at the same time—it was like nothing I had ever experienced before. At that moment, I realized that if I wanted to rediscover that kind of peace, I'd have to do it all over again. It was an unforgettable adventure, and let's not forget about the incredible people I met along the way. They played a major part in making this journey extraordinary. Throughout the hike, I never once felt alone because there was always someone looking out for me. If they couldn't spot me nearby, they'd shout, "Hey Kunal, where are you?" We didn't feel like strangers; it was as if we had adopted each other.

Honestly, I had no idea this hike would turn out to be such a remarkable experience. But thanks to the support and motivation we gave each other, we reached that peak with laughter and a profound sense of fulfillment. Every challenge we faced was totally worth it when we finally made it back to the base, knowing we had created memories that would last a lifetime.

Now, I'm not entirely sure if our paths will ever cross again, my dear fellow adventurers. We all know the odds aren't in our favor. But you know what? I lived in the present during our journey, without worrying about the future or dwelling on the past, and I have zero regrets. Although I do secretly hope that our paths will intersect at some point, even if it's just for a fleeting moment. A simple "Hey" or "Which trek are you going on?" would be enough to bring a smile to my face. To each and every person I met on this journey, I want you to know that I found our hike to be incredibly worthwhile. I wish I could describe each one of you in detail, but that would require a whole book. Just know that each and every one of you left an indelible mark on me that day. To all of you, I want to express my gratitude for teaching me the importance of living in the moment and appreciating the beauty of the present moment. Thanks to all of you, I now have a clear idea of what I need to do when I want to find peace of mind. I'll hit the road once again, with a new group of strangers, ready to embark on another incredible adventure... and maybe this time, I'll even remember their names!




226 views

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page